Weekly Summary

Financial Win of the Week:

This week I sent $1,000 to debt! Five star is going to be paid off by July! I originally predicted June, but recalculated and am being conservative. I also did something I don’t usually do…and it wasn’t very FI minded of me. Our community has been doing something called wine fairies. I decided to give back after having gifts dropped off on my porch twice! I spent about $200 to get gifts for 15 local ladies who deserve it! It feels SO GOOD to give back. In these times we really need to support each other and lift spirits. So, I consider this a win!

Financial Fail of the week:

I did do a little shopping this week. I bought an air purifier for our room because my daughter’s allergies have been acting up. This probably isn’t a “fail” but I’ll leave it here. I also bought a scale. I picked up a used elliptical for $50 (WIN) a few weeks ago and have dove into getting back into shape. Otherwise, spending went well this week so not much to report here!

I am on track to be debt free by July which is so exciting! I’m excited to max my 401k and HSA out after I am debt free. Patience does not come easily for me.

What fails/wins did you have this week?

Author:

I am a mom of 4 living in upstate New York. Like many others I started off with debt after college and made many money mistakes during my late teens and early twenties. I then discovered financial freedom and have been on this journey since. I started out backwards and bought three homes before getting to the paying off debts part of financial freedom. Right now I own one duplex, one single family and am selling on a "land contract" another single family. I live in one side of the duplex and rent out the other which Brandon Turner from Biggerpockets coined as "househacking". This has saved my finances. We only pay 130$ a month to live plus utilities which is outstanding in upstate New York. I'm looking forward to sharing my progress and some tips for moving toward financial freedom.

Leave a comment