BAD NEWS!

So, we found out the bank messed up on our contract and we are now not able to get the triplex we are under contract for. This is really bad news. I was very excited to be moving forward with real estate investing! I am upset with the bank for messing up and upset with myself for getting my hopes up. But…

This may…have been a good thing after all. With the current situation in the US with coronavirus running rampant, I’m not feeling real estate. I love real estate and at some point it might be a GREAT time to buy, but I feel like that might not be now. I am seeing a lot of people not paying rent-that’s a whole other topic I may or may not go into later- and also I know prices are going to drop. That, and with everyone being laid off, etc. I was worried about filling vacant apartments as well.

Since we had saved so much for the down payment and closing costs, I have enough in my account to pay off all of my debts. Right now I’m toying with buying a single family in town that is cheap and in the best neighborhood, and slow flipping it. This would provide a bigger home for the family which we desperately need and also this home has great potential. After it is fixed up we could sell…or stay there and use a line of credit to buy another rental. We also have the option to continue saving and buy another rental with a mortgage.

We will see what the future holds but I think in this case I’m going to go with everything happens for a reason.

Author:

I am a mom of 4 living in upstate New York. Like many others I started off with debt after college and made many money mistakes during my late teens and early twenties. I then discovered financial freedom and have been on this journey since. I started out backwards and bought three homes before getting to the paying off debts part of financial freedom. Right now I own one duplex, one single family and am selling on a "land contract" another single family. I live in one side of the duplex and rent out the other which Brandon Turner from Biggerpockets coined as "househacking". This has saved my finances. We only pay 130$ a month to live plus utilities which is outstanding in upstate New York. I'm looking forward to sharing my progress and some tips for moving toward financial freedom.

2 thoughts on “BAD NEWS!

    1. I think for sure this happened for a reason. It will be okay and hoping to slow flip a single family. I have also seen many investors pulling out right now. I’m sure the market will be dropping.

      Like

Leave a comment